jump to navigation

Part III…………..the dream April 13, 2010

Posted by Barbara in Gamer Mom, Warcraft.
trackback

The sunflowers are coming up.    

We had never made a garden before this spring, so we find ourselves excited about such little things.  J planted the seeds in the garden just a couple of weeks ago and already the new little plants are 3 or 4 inches tall.    The packet says they will grow up to 12 feet high and produce blooms a foot or so across.

That’s hard to imagine.   I have trouble wrapping my head around the idea of a flower twice as tall as my husband.

And yet, the beginnings of that dream are there in front of us, drawing us back to give them water and marvel at how they’ve changed in just a day.

That the garden exists at all makes me smile.  So far, I don’t mind the work or the sun.  That’s easy enough to say so early in the spring.    The sun isn’t yet hot and the bugs haven’t yet challenged my patience.    But the garden is my vision becoming reality, and the work has been truly pleasant.  I look forward to going out every morning to see what new life is pushing through the soil.  It’s a celebration I haven’t yet taken for granted.  If I let the dream grow along with the tomatoes, maybe I never will.

Why a garden?  Because I had a dream that meant I needed to make some big changes.  And change is hard.   If it weren’t, becomeanx.org would go out of business and I would fit into my wedding dress again.   It’s hard for several reasons.  Alan Deutschman did a great job of explaining the science in his article “Change or Die.” It’s pretty long, but worth the time.   He brings up the point, one mirrored by the Real Age doctors and even Dr. Daniel Amen, that we need to have a real motivation for change.   A dream that we want to have come true at the deepest levels of our being.  One that makes the journey worth the pain.

Think really hard about what matters most to you.   What would you WANT to be doing, if you weren’t on the computer all the time.  What if….what if…..you could change not only this little problem, but all the other issues that hold you back.  Then what would you be doing?  What would your life be like?  Dream a little.

In my vision, I’m enjoying my grown (and growing) children as the wonderful people they are – doing active things we all enjoy doing.  I see myself climbing mountains (real ones!) and travelling to see parts of the world I haven’t seen yet.   I see myself active in my community.  And most important, I see my wonderful husband and I sharing an active and fulfilling life.

The details aren’t so important.  Do I really want to start that business I’ve been thinking about?   Will we start a vineyard instead?  Will I ever have grandchildren?

oh….. ummmm…..  whatever.   Those things don’t drive the vision.

Health and good relationships do.  And those, I can work toward without giving up other ideas.  And, in fact, as I work toward the real dreams, balance is happening all by itself.

Part IV –  Climbing Mountains

Part the Last  – Baby Steps

“If one advances confidently in the direction of one’s dreams, and endeavors to live the life which one has imagined, one will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”  ~Henry David Thoreau

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

