jump to navigation

Just a number…… September 14, 2010

Posted by Barbara in Gamer Mom.
trackback

Not long ago, I took my mother-in-law to the emergency room for a small worry and the attendant asked her age.   I did a little mental math and said, “She’s 89”.

I wonder how my own kids would answer the question on my behalf.  Something like: “I’m not sure. She’s been celebrating 39 ever since I can remember….”

The problem with the number of birthdays celebrated is that they don’t correlate to anything else of import. My self-image hasn’t changed that much.  Life is just as much fun as it ever was.   Maybe more.

I may forget names and where I put the keys, but not how to laugh.   Bones may ache a little easier than they used to, but with some TLC and persistent effort, I can climb my mountains or paddle my own canoe.

There are, however, some differences.

The view from the top of the mountain  is less taken for granted.  Life is more flavored with the seasoning of the past  and the hopeful and enticing aroma of the future.

It takes less time now to get out of shape, and a little longer to make it back in.  I’ve discovered, though, that with patience and baby steps, I can, indeed, get there.

I may occasionally  lose words, or even complete thoughts,  as I talk, but the ones I find hopefully have more depth and serve as well.

The  kids are self-determining, thinking beings now, taking care of their own worlds.  And they’ve become great friends who keep me singing new songs and learning new ways of seeing.

My hair now has silver highlights that I didn’t even have to pay extra for, and with luck, someday it’ll gain that lovely softness my mother’s has.

It’s just a number.  And kids, just fyi – the number is now 58.   🙂

“A person is as young as their dreams and as old as their cynicism.” ~ Tony Colombo

Comments»

1. the blonde gardener - September 30, 2012

Thanks for visiting my blog!

Barbara - September 30, 2012

I look forward every week to sharing your garden through your blog. It’s nice to realize I’m not alone in my need for ‘dirt therapy’. 🙂

2. Dianna - September 14, 2010

Optimism is contagious! You always make me smile and look at the brighter side of life, Sea! Thank you.


Leave a Reply

