jump to navigation

Passages – sort of March 22, 2011

Posted by Barbara in Gamer Mom, Warcraft.
trackback

Don’t cry because it’s over.  Smile, because it happened.    ~Dr. Seuss

A personal era has ended.   I finally decided to stop playing World of Warcraft.   I couldn’t do that without some very fond farewells to some really great friends I’ve made over the years.  And then…..  I still couldn’t quite.

Some six years ago, I started playing because my kids were playing.  The older boys were leaving the nest and the younger, who was only 9 at the time, wanted to play the game so he could play with his brothers online.  That’s too young to leave a kid – even a pretty mature, intelligent one – online alone.   So I joined in to learn and oversee, as I would have with any other activity he might have decided to pursue.  After all, I followed my kids through baseball and band, piano lessons and Boy Scouts.  Life is simply more fun when you jump in to things than when you watch from the sidelines.

Maybe I just always refused to ‘grow up’ if it meant losing the pleasure of trying new things. Looking back, I was unbelievably naive back then.  You may be thinking I still am, but nowhere near the level of lost I was in the early days.   Learning a game is one thing.  Learning a new social medium is entirely different.

For one thing, I learned a new vocabulary.  Some pretty good words I try not to abuse in professional circles:  Sweet!  W00t!  L33t!  Awesome!   And some less savory vernacular my new friends had to gently coach me in.   Thank you.  🙂

They taught me how to play the game, and patiently came back to guide me when I got lost in the caverns and dungeons.  And they also taught me that real friendships can happen online.  Friendships that cross the real-life boundaries of age or social status, political affiliation or nationality.  My online friends are just amazingly accepting.

Thank you all for making our little guild so great!  We were so laughed at some 5 years ago when Hariel, Dirk and I decided to start a guild with rules like ‘respect’ and ‘clean language’.  (Extra hugs here to Dirk for kicking things off and to Hariel for holding the reins the last few years).  The WoW world at large never thought it would fly.  But the great people who found their way to the Noble Light have given it wings!  It’s been such a great, drama-free, enjoyable place to play.

And when life on the outside has been challenging, they’ve been there with extra hugs and shoulders to lean on.  I hope I’ve been able to do the same.  You, my friends, most surely have been and will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers – not just for the hard times but for life when it’s good, too.

So there it is.  I was all ready to quit. Life goes forward and it needs to be allowed to grow.  I cancelled my WoW account (effective tomorrow) and sent an e-mail to my great friend, Brendan, to let him know what I planned.  He was understanding and supportive, as truly good friends are.   The hard part was done.

Until I logged back on to say goodbye and run one last friendly instance.  And it occurred to me then that I don’t know how to say goodbye to friends – at least not when it takes so little to keep a light burning.

Yes, all the reasons I had for stopping are still there and still important.  I have very little time to play these days, and the very last thing I want is for my presence to encourage my son or anyone else to continue playing a game that has outlived its place in their lives.  But it still has a place in my world – it’s a place I go where I can count on smiles and laughter, a friendly shoulder to lean on and good advice.   So, even though I won’t be there often, I’ll be dropping in now and then for the the wow! you all keep in my heart.

And if the time comes for my friends to grow their own worlds, I wish you each well.  I wish you time for family and friends, time for career building and school, time for art and music, time to ponder the great things of life and to climb a mountain or two.

Thank you all for making my WoW time so special!  I may catch you online once in a while, but I hope you’ll drop by here every now and then to see how life is moving in Sea’s World and leave a comment or two.  Or send me an e-mail.  I’d really like that.  I’ll try to be better about updating often.  Now I’ll have a reason to do that.

/farewell

“For when the One Great Scorer comes to write against your name, He marks-not that you won or lost- but how you played the game.” ~ Grantland Rice

Comments»

1. Josh (Gradientecho) - March 28, 2011

Sea, you’ll have to let me know if your address changes. You never know when a random bag of coffee may show up in the mail.

Sea - March 28, 2011

Nice to know we can look forward to future coffee fixes. We’ve sure been enjoying it this week! Super special! ❤

2. Sea - March 28, 2011

You guys really are the best! ❤

3. Steve - March 25, 2011

You continue to be an inspiration to me. I’m so glad we’ve stayed in touch outside of the game.

Once upon a time, I left a great guild, not because of conflict or drama, but to see things from a different perspective. My quest began on the Horde side. I met more great people. I joined guilds and started guilds. I searched long and hard for the Horde equivalent of OL. There were some that were close, but never quite the same. I got into “serious” endgame raiding. Then, I too, just quit. Just didn’t feel right.

That break really put my life into perspective. Only just recently have I decided to come back in game not because I missed the game, but because I missed the friends I had made. And the first person who whispered me within a minute of me logging on? You. How cosmically appropriate…

So I’m back a part of this great little experiment you guys started with OL. Thanks for all the great in-game memories Sea. But most of all thanks for the constant reminder that “Respect Works”.

Your friend
Steve (Red)

4. Kail - March 23, 2011

Quitting the game is easy, but leaving the friends you made is not. I know how you feel. I still enjoy keeping up with everyone in other ways though 🙂

5. Dianna - March 23, 2011

It’s not so hard keeping in touch outside of WoW. You helped create a fantastic guild with good core values and you can be confident that will continue. You can also be confident that the friendships formed there will continue. I’ll keep reading your blog and I’ll probably be asking for advice on raising boys! We love you!
Dianna

6. Brendan - March 22, 2011

It has been and is my honor knowing you, Sea. You have been there for me as a great friend with terrific advice through good and bad times. I suspect and expect you to be there for me in the future! In turn, I’ll definitely be here for you.

– Brendan (Hariel)


Leave a Reply

