jump to navigation

Back in the garden June 20, 2011

Posted by Barbara in Uncategorized.
trackback

Coffee.  Garden.  Coffee.  Does a good morning need anything else?  ~Betsy Cañas Garmon

Garden – June 20

I totally enjoy spending the early mornings in the garden.  It’s good for the soul.  And it must surely be a good way to stay young! It provides for all the things they say we should do.  Good nutrition,  fresh air, daily exercise (my shoulder still complains that I hoed too much too quickly), and an excuse to learn lots of new things. Gardens are a constant learning curve. And, like the reef aquariums, it is always awesome to see the ways nature develops and how everything is connected. The webs of life that support our own are so easy to take for granted but so amazing!

This year we’ve redone the watering scheme, going from a drip system that didn’t work well to a timed sprinkler system supplemented with hand watering. We’ve figured out how to fight squash bugs.  I’ve been amazed to discover that water (applied with a hand sprayer) has been my biggest ally in that fight.   We’ve been spared the onslaught of the dreaded colorado potato beetles that stripped the crop last year and we’re learning to hill potatoes to make them produce better.

The green beans are beautiful but not making any beans. I think it’s just too hot for them. We were pretty late getting the garden in this spring, and the weather turned hot so early. The squash have been prolific, giving me enough to share through the food pantry as well as making zucchini bread, frittatas, zucchini fries and other goodies.  Learned a better way to fix okra and planning to try oven-baked as opposed to frying.

Tomatoes are just now ripening – a few at a time for now.  If they keep making well during this hot, hot summer, I hope to can salsa and sauce, and try making green tomato pickles and old-fashioned tomato preserves.   Peppers just now getting big enough to enjoy, but I’m waiting for some to turn color.  Waiting is easier because I’m still using up ones in the freezer from last year’s garden.  Hopefully the sprinkler system will keep the ground a bit cooler at night and keep them producing for the next couple of months.

Watermelons and cantelope are looking great and making us anxious for the first ones to be ready for picking. They’re *almost* ready.  Come visit. There will be plenty to share. 🙂

I used to visit and revisit it a dozen times a day, and stand in deep contemplation over my vegetable progeny with a love that nobody could share or conceive of who had never taken part in the process of creation.  It was one of the most bewitching sights in the world to observe a hill of beans thrusting aside the soil, or a rose of early peas just peeping forth sufficiently to trace a line of delicate green.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne, Mosses from an Old Manse

Comments»

1. Dianna - June 20, 2011

I always loved helping my mom in her garden and I’ve never had one of my own. This is inspiring! Maybe next year I can start small and work my way up! Thanks for the great idea, Sea!

Sea - June 20, 2011

I hope you can! Starting small sounds just right since your hands will be more than a little full with growing boys. I can’t imagine more fun than that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

