jump to navigation

Garden lessons, life lessons July 11, 2011

Posted by Barbara in Gardening, Life.
trackback

I was weeding the garden this morning. My recent week of play saw a bumper crop of weeds to go with the nice harvest. As I worked my way down the row of mostly gone or harvested onions and garlic I saw what I took to be a miscreant stalk of corn – probably planted by the birds who are enjoying the corn crop.

 I really am aware of how steep my gardening learning curve still is.    I thought I knew exactly what that plant was.  I was quite willing to pull it up.  At the very least, it was growing in the wrong place.  Who needs corn in the garlic row?

Imagine my surprise when my pulling uncovered a large tuber.  It was the long-lost ginger I had planted months ago and never seen again.  It had suddenly decided to grow – exactly where I had planted it.  It didn’t grow as quickly as I had expected and I didn’t understand what it would look like if it did.  So I mis-read the reality.  And ruined what would have become a beautiful and productive plant. 

I wonder how often we fail to recognize other treasures in life.

Sometimes because they take time to reveal themselves.  Sometimes because we  are so focused on our own expectations that we don’t recognize and value what is right in front of us.

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures. 
                 ~Thornton Wilder  

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

